Unexpected

This rain was not forecast, at all. Fred had been out spotting a flying pig and rang me to ask if I wished to cycle back home with him. So, we arranged to meet on the South Bank. As I left the garage at work, I paused... another cyclist was also staring out at the downpour. We shrugged at our luck, then I launched into the wet. I hadn't taken my waterproofs, of course, since it hardly rains in London and the forecast is generally reliable. Not today, though. I cycled to the south side of Waterloo Bridge and bumped into my colleague Jim, who was sheltering under an umbrella waiting for a bus. I didn't stay to chat (I'll see him tomorrow), instead ploughing on through the rain to carefully carry the bicycle down the slippery steps to the dry sanctuary under the bridge where Fred was lingering along with quite a few commuters. There we tried to wait out the deluge, but it became clear that it wasn't going to stop anytime soon. So Fred and I cut our losses and headed to Wagamama, where we dried off while scoffing tasty food (I could eat my weight in pickled ginger). Sometimes the rain has its benefits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.