Everyday is Red

By everydayisred

I didn't turn my back on you, I just turned around

The other day, my good friend K., told me how important it is to keep up my relationships in my old hometown. I am struggling with this.

Call me selfish, but I find it increasingly hard to maintain my old friendships while letting my new ones blossom. It's hard. My schedule is much different than it was 5 months ago, so all the routines of when I would play catch-up with my there friends has completely disintergrated.

I don't know why I find it so hard to sit down and write an email these days. I mean, it's not a time issue, after all if I have the time to sit and write here, I certainly can make the time to sit and write a friend. I love hearing from everyone.

I don't think it's just me. I'm not stupid, these things happen. Life is busy enough as it is, making it hard to get together with the people you love. Now take that factor and put a 230 mile gap between you and them.

I drive into my old stomping grounds once a month (sometimes twice), and I usually spend every moment I have with my family. I'm only there for roughly 36 hours, and I just can't fit everyone in. They are mostly understanding.
I don't expect my there friends to come up here. I know how it is, we all have jobs responsibilities, etc... I don't know what I expect, now. I don't know what I expected, either. All I know is things have changed. I am changing.
How do I squeak everyone and everything in? How do push onward to the new life I started and love, while keeping ties and links to the people who have made me who I am today?

So what happens now?
(another suitcase, another hall)
What happens now?
(hang your picture on another wall)
Where am I going to?
(you'll get by you always have before)
Where am I going?

Don't ask, anymore.


~Music from Evita

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.