Seeing is believing

By hoover

How to inspire confidence?

Today is my long awaited elbow operation.

I was admitted very early in the morning. Stripped of make up and nail extensions I was put in a cubicle. I was then kitted out with some very sexy 'anti-embolism' stockings, a backless gown, foam slippers and a dressing gown. My query over "do you not do these in a different colour?" was simply grunted at. Well, at least I chuckled.

Then I was visited by the surgeon's gimp.

The man produced a black marker pen and took time drawing this delightful arrow on me. When I queried what he was doing he brightly informed me "it's for when you're asleep, so we don't operate on the wrong arm".

Alrighty. That makes me feel so much better.

I later spoke to a nurse and she told me a story about a different hospital. A patient with one leg had sadly had to go into hospital to get his other leg removed. The patient had his leg marked to avoid confusion over which leg to amputate. Hmm. The words jobsworth and idiot spring to mind. And that's putting it mildly.


I'm back dating blips here. The pain is not good and my brain is not working very well so bare with me..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.