Jess & Molly Law

By jml

Celebrations ...

(... almost)

Tomorrow is our wedding anniversary. We are going to Edinburgh, then Pitlochry, for a few days, and we will not be spending much time at home. So Jess & Molly are going to Aunty Joyce for a while.

Today I thought that I would give them an anniversary present, just a little bit early because they will not be together for most of tomorrow. Their treat is a rawhide bone each. Molly took hers straight out into the garden and began to enjoy it with loud crunching sounds. Jess, however, did not chew hers, and she kept looking apprehensively at Molly. I was sure that she was remembering previous bone wars, where Molly collects all the prizes, and Jess has none.

So I eventually separated them - Molly in the garden and Jess in the conservatory. This gave us peace and enjoyment for a while.

But only for a while - before Molly had finished her bone, she was scratching to be let back in the house. Jess took her bone to the back bedroom before I let Molly in - but the little vixen made it quite clear that all she wanted was to get at where Jess's bone was! For a little while longer, I managed to maintain the armistice only by keeping them in separate rooms. Eventually, though, I had to let them get together again. Molly fooled me to the extent that she did not make straight for Jess's bone; but sometime over the next hour or so, while I was not watching, it moved into the garden to join the remains of Molly's first bone.

Poor Jess - when we first got Molly, everyone said how the older dog would take charge of her and teach her to be respectful - it just never happened that way!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.