Right Hand Signalling

Now I can take my left hand off the handlebars with the best of them, wave to pals, scratch that irritating itch in the back of my helmet, switch on my back light, signal my intention to turn left with a flourish, give the finger to those who drive too close.....but when it comes to right hand turns I just can't do it.

I have to negotiate a particularly sticky right hand turn on my route home, which comes just after a blind bend, turns me into a blind road (farmhouse on the corner) and is downhill. Because of this inability to use the right hand I have to do a quick shuftie behind me to see if anything is emerging (usually very fast) from the blind corner, get across into the middle of the road and go for it.

Just as I was carrying out this manoeuvre tonight a cow bellowed an almighty racket from next the farmhouse and I had no idea what it was, wind in my ears, committed to turning, was it a juggernaut about to flatten me? I was so scared that I laughed maniacally all the way down the lane.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.