sp33dway

By sp33dway

tunnel vision

ok so the sight of a seemingly 6ft 2 proverbial brick shithouse standing and crouching on the pavement at 1045pm dressed in black jacket n'jeans may, at first glance, appear to be out-of-the-ordinary and possibly suspicious looking. Especially when being strangled by a camera and tripod on a quiet village road.

And I'm totally fine with someone being concerned enough with what I'm doing to ask me about it. I've done it myself. Loads.

But it would be nice if strangers had the decency to ask with the slightest hint of politeness (I think my mum and dad call it manners) when they see a photographer taking photos on the street. In this case a simple 'excuse me' at the beginning would've done the job, instead of the 'WHAT YER TAKIN' PHOTOS OF?' bellowed down the road at me.

me: 'the road'.
her: 'THE ROAD?'
me: 'yep'.
her, hollered back to the house: 'HE'S TAKIN' PICS OF THE ROAD'.

the 'what does it look like I'm taking photos of, Sherlock?' was the wittier response that I kept to myself in my head :)




the last time something similar happened

and

another shot taken just-up-the-road from a little while back

***
To my neighbour who lives just a few doors down: i hope you used the blipcard i gave you and checked out my photo. no offence taken, and I'm sorry if me taking a photo of the street near your home worried you. It wasn't intended. If you see me again I'd be more than happy to strike up a conversation with you (although to be honest I'd probably not be very talkative as I'd no doubt be in geekmode trying to get that perfect shot nailed :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.