Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Cookies

How confusing the English language can be. Yesterday I spent 2 very frustrating hours on the phone to Santander Bank after I was locked out of internet banking. I had only gone on line to change my address. After the usual rigmarole of pressing lots of phone keys, being given different numbers to call and listening to supposedly calming music, I ended up speaking to a nice lad in Belfast. He was very helpful and explained that because of new security settings I would have to "moderate my cookies". Eh? thought I.....moderate my cookies?...what's he talking about? Anyway, he talked me through the process and since I remembered seeing cookies somewhere in internet settings it was easy enough.

Unfortunately, the problem wasn't resolved and eventually I was told my "ID script was not compatible with the system" and that new ID number and password would have to be sent out to me. OK says I, in that case can you send it to my new address? No problem says the nice lad, what is your address and postcode? Information supplied. Address not recognised. That's because its a new house says I. Sorry, system will not allow a new address. What can I do? New ID number to be posted to my old address and I have to call in at the branch office in Renfrew for my address to be changed. Now why didn't I think of that in the first place? This must be what they call progress!

So how did the word cookie get into computer speak? I know you get chocolate chip and lots of other types of american cookies, but for me a cookie has always meant a cookie bun as blipped. By chance, when I called in at the bakers this morning for my paper, John the baker came in with a tray of hot fresh cookie buns. After my on-line problems with cookies I just had to buy one. It was delicious with morning coffee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.