wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

A skirt for every occasion

For a not girly girl, I'm collecting a worrying number of skirts and dresses. Admittedly, they'd be nothing for the girly girl, but for someone who generally dresses to do practical everyday things like chasing wildebeest down the street and climbing ladders to the moon, it's worrying. Today another joined the collection, that one with the button. As well as the most bargain of not-op-shop bargain suity things.

I may have forgotten to actually say what a moot is. I've got mine tomorrow. It's a little daunting, especially since my arguments just don't quite want to make it onto paper. Essentially it's like a debate, but with legal formalities and on a legal topic. So two pairs are given opposing sides of a topic (we've got two questions to answer each), and a week to prepare, and then we stand up in the SUpreme Court of Tasmania all dressed up in our business bestness and argue it out. We have two judges, usually one academic and one practitioner, and they interrupt to ask lots of questions and test our knowledge. We get marked on our presentation skills, our knowledge, and everything else. It's compulsory to do a moot in final year, although there's always other competitions with them, and some subjects do them for assessment too.

And so that's why I'm currently spending my entire life reading about the Sea Shepherd, and piracy, and words like jus cogens and mare liberum and jurisdiction and sovereignty. I've got not problems at all with public speaking, but the fear is always there that you'll break down in tears (unlikely for me), or totally stuff it all up and make the wrong argument or forget something basic like what number comes after 3 (4).

And so that's why I bought a shiny suity thing today. It was pretty exciting - last week they didn't have a matching jacket to go with the skirt I liked, and today they did. On sale! Hurrah! All very exciting. I'm not allowed to put on ANY weight for the jacket (they didn't have the one size in between almost shrink wrap and elephant skin, but the girl assured me the shrink wrap will stretch a little, and it does look fine), but it sure does feel proper to wear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.