Bobs Photos of Freo

By sommervl

Balinese Dancers

I was invited to a performance tonight as part of a cultural exchange with Indonesia - specifically Bali. A small group of visual artists, photographers, musicians and dancers are in Perth in an initiative that exchanges knowledge, art, and culture with specifically the University of Western Australia. A very friendly, very creative group that I hope to see more of.

I have some thoughts about why this was not advertised more widely. This was a classical Indonesian performance in the real sense not a road show. It was both a visual and aural spectacular is all that I can describe at this late hour.

I have seen Balinese performances mainly to present to tourists, but this was far removed from that. I was stunned by the colours, they sensuality of movement and the cacophanic excellence of the musicians.

I shot around 450 images- no problem with shutter noise here and have not looked at them all yet but of those I have this seemed to say it for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.