Views from the Edge

By ElviraTSquirrel

Achavanich Stone Setting

Today I had to nip over to Lybster to take back some journals I'd been cataloguing for the archive, and decided to do something I've been wanting to do for ages.

I stopped the car, walked a mile up the road with my camera (I actually didnt need to walk that far but it was a gorgeous day) and took some photos of the stones.

This is about a mile(ish) from Rangag Loch with the broch that I photographed earlier, so I expect the inhabitants of the broch knew this place very well. It stands by another Loch and is a horseshoe shape, not a circle.

I wont bore anyone with any history or geography.

This photo is one of three I took in succession, and this one is the only one with an anomaly. If you look to the distant stones there is a blue light hanging over a space...this is actually the site of a fallen stone (I touched it as I walked past, it's wet and covered in moss) I w0nder what the light is? A sun spot on the camera, energy hovering over the stones, a guardian? This is not one of the most welcoming stone settings Ive visited, in fact it gave me heartburn (yes, I know stupid...but I rarely get heartburn) and unlike many I didnt feel like I could stay all day.

Wierd huh? (oh, and my batteries drained, but that might just be because they were running down)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.