on a good day

By mjmurowch

501 (a heart-to-heart with cyberworld)

here's to another 500 blips in row...1 for 1 so far

UPDATE: after 500 (well actually 501) straight days of blipping, i've decided i'm going to take some time off. for me, it has come to the point where taking a picture every day has become more of a burden than a pleasure. countless times over the past 16 months i have found myself taking pictures of flowers in my yard or whatever interesting objects i can find as the clock fast approaches midnight, just in order to keep some meaningless streak of picture-taking alive. i have learned SO much about photography since i started blipping, and the fact that i was able to blip every day for FIVE HUNDRED DAYS is truly amazing, seeing as how i had never even touched a camera in my life before this. but part of this learning experience has taught me that a photograph is something you make, not something you take (ansel adams?). a picture without meaning is just an arrangement of shapes, a pattern of color, a mere imitation of what once was. i want to do more than this; i want to leave my comfort zone and push myself to capture true emotion in my photos. i want to make photos, not take them.

don't worry blip world, i'll be back. i have to come back.

-mike

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.