Birding 365

By misstaliena

Surprise!

I want to state that I live in North West Kent, an area in which escaped Parakeets have managed to colonise parks and are doing quite well for themselves. That said, after the events of the last ten minutes, I can understand precisely why.

It started at 7:00AM, I decided (after fairly little deliberation) that I didn't want to go for my morning walk, so I reset my alarm for 9:00AM and went back to sleep. So, come 9:00AM I get up and head downstairs, after firing up my laptop and letting dad know I couldn't be bothered to go for a walk, I was about to get up and make breakfast. Dad, who was looking out of the patio doors, suddenly exclaimed loudly that two Green Parakeets had just flown onto next door's roof.

Imagine this, me in my cookie monster pjs, charging outside clutching my brand new lens with my father, both squeaking excitedly. After a few minutes scanning the Sweet Chesnut trees next to our house, we saw them. they were, I have to say, very adeptly prying open the spiky husks and removing the chestnuts from their shells. I think its safe to say, the Green Parakeet has found its niche in the British food chain, and will be here for a while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.