Exaggeration

I walked into the Stihl service centre this afternoon to buy a new chain for my chainsaw. Here is how the conversation went:

Me,"Hi, I'd like to buy a new chain for my MS250 chainsaw... Oh and I forgot my wallet so I will have to come back later. How much are they?"

Stihl Man: "How big is your bar?"

Me (confidently): "Forty one and a half inch."

Stihl Man: "Wow! That's like, massive!"

Giggles from the other shop patrons...

Me: "Ah, oh, make that forty one and a half centimetres."

Stihl Man: " Are you sure?"

Me: " Er...no." (flustered now)

Stihl Man: " Why don't you bring the old chain in."

Me: " I'll do that... bye."

I am thinking that maybe I made a bit of a fool of myself. Men never, never get inches and centimetres mixed up after all.

So tonight I took the old chain off my saw and tomorrow I will take it on to prove the size... in centimetres.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.