days I'll remember

By bassrockbob

The Harbour, Cockenzie

Also known as the West Harbour or the Old Harbour. The building in the background is Cockenzie Power Station - there's a nicer blip of it here:

Power Station

Took this after taking my dad to visit mum, who is very weak and tired and didn't want to talk. To be honest I think she would just like to go to sleep and not have to go to the trouble of waking up and going through another day. I realize that some people might find this an awful thing to say, but she is so obviously unhappy and has been for a long time.

Dad on the other hand, while complaining about getting old and infirm and weak and sore, would probably be happy to soldier on forever! He was giving me more tales of his part in Hitler's downfall (I stole that from Spike Milligan) - he was in the Royal Navy during the war and saw action on the Arctic Convoys. More info here:

Arctic Convoys

That's not my dad, by the way!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.