Seeing is believing

By hoover

Friendship

I've realised something the past few days. I may not have a gaggle of glamorous girlies to go out with. I may not have a work social life. I may be in pain and feeling sorry for myself but inside I know how fortunate I am. I'm fortunate because I have very good friends.

I have friends who rallied round to look after me last night when I was rather ill. Friends who propped me up in bed. Friends who cleaned up my vomit. Friends who didn't care how un-sexy I was when I was ill. A friend who walks my dog so many times for so little thanks. A friend who brought me wine, dvds and chocolate instead of grapes. A friend who stayed the night to make sure I was ok. A friend who unscrewed the lids of the food in my fridge to make it easier for me.

My friends might not all be young and glamorous but they are my friends. True friends. For that I am so very grateful.

Friendship buds and blossoms
Like summer in full dress.
Friendship brings a harvest
of joy and happiness.

Friendship is sustaining
Through winter wind and snows.
Friendship can't be hoarded;
By being shared, it grows.

I have this poem on a plate in my kitchen. It belonged to my friend's mum who sadly died this year. I realise now how true the words are.

Here's to friendship.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.