send me back to the wild!

By davidpritchard

All mod cons

I can honestly say that today is the first time that I?ve ever looked at a bunch of caravans and thought ?they look nice?.

This scene made me think of CSI or, maybe the movie ?Se7en?. Definitely not what I would imagine of the outskirts of Sheffield. I didn?t have a tripod with me, so this shot was made possible by the 18-270?s Vibration Compensation system. I?ve found that you have most success with stabilisation in the mid ranges of the lens. I managed a shutter speed for this one that was almost ten times slower than the recommended speed for this focal length on my camera. This is probably the best I?ve managed from the system; it?s more typical to get a three-stop advantage, but it does show how effective it can be. I do have a habit of leaving it running even when I don?t have to (unless a tripod is involved), as it does a really good job of stabilising the view through the camera, if nothing else.

Nikon D300; Tamron 18-270mm @ 110mm; ISO 800; F/6; 1/15 second. VC on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.