Life blips n'blobs

By Vikvet

Mr Motivator!

Do you remember him?

I think he was the sucessor to the "Green Goddess" on ITV's breakfast time.

Anyway, this is my Mr Motivator. I plug in and just get in time to the beat.

I gave up smoking about 12 weeks ago, and since then had put on about 1/2 a stone in weight. However I decided that there was no better time to get a healthier and fitter lifestyle, and that I would lose weight by a combination of exercise and diet, since either alone have never seemed to work.

I started keeping track of my calories and exercise on an app for the iphone, and have tried to exercise every day, to the extent of getting back on my bicycle and doing 23 miles last Sunday.

However I think I overdid it the following day and have been left nursing achilles tendon problems this week. But today I had my induction at a new gym, and took along my little friend. It keeps me going, I just have to have my ipod on! I even miss it in the pool!

So since I started, just over 2 weeks ago, I have lost about 3.5kg, (about 7lbs) which is, yep, about 1/2 a stone!
However I'm still BMI 25-7, which is considered overweight, and to be honest I'd never really bothered to lose the weight I gained when I was pregnant, so what better time than before I hit the big four-oh!

I have also set myself the target of running the Great North Run next year, however I'm not convinced at this stage my joints will hold out. My stamina and motivation will, but I think I've had a leg transplant, and they gave mine to the old lady down the road and I got hers!

Any suggestions to aid with rehabilitation of the achilles tendonitis gratefully received! ( Oh and I'm not currently running and Zumba is off limits too, however I am still swimming, cycling and gym-ing)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.