Sweet Thames

I met my girl at Woolwich Pier
Beneath the big cranes standing
And oh, the love I felt for her
It passed all understanding

Took her sailing on the river
Flow sweet river, flow
London town was mine to give her
Sweet Thames flow softly

Made the Thames into a crown
Flow sweet river, flow
Made a brooch of Silver town
Sweet Thames flow softly

But now alas the tide has changed
My love she has gone from me
And winter's frost has touched my heart
And put a blight upon me

Creeping fog is on the river,
Flow sweet river, flow
Sun and moon and stars gone with her,
Sweet Thames flow softly.

That seemed fitting this morning as I looked out across the Thames with the early mist lifting. The evening travel home became an ordeal of cancelled flights but I got here in the end, and it would be so wrong to whine about it. Like everything else, jet-setting ain't what it used to be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.