off course

By Eveningstar

Not a beautiful picture, but a great tradition

This rather plain picture is depicts one of my favourite things about Freo. It is one of the veggie gardens belonging to the Italian population, many of which produce vegetables for the local store, maybe as close as just down the road. I often walk past this particular garden which always has healthy produce of one sort or another growing in it. However there is never any mulch!!! So I supposed that quite a lot of fertilizer was used instead. Today I peered over the wall and spied handfuls of fertilizer strewn along the beds. The plants are always so well cared for so I feel that I lack generosity wishing that the growing methods were more organic. I fear a new house will be built on this inner city block before any organic methods are introduced.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.