A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Nettles

BT have still not fixed the phone/broadband at home (first complained about on Tuesday). I am not holding out much hope of getting it fixed before the weekend so I may end up either backblipping or trying to email in Blackberryphotos. Pfft.

The perfect partner to the dock leaf I posted yesterday. Nettles are mainly renowned for being present in vast abundance in any place you might fall over as a child. They are also very nutritious, especially when young and I have a recipe for nettle soup which I plan every year to make in spring when the nettles are ripe for such a thing. Every year I utterly fail to make nettle soup.

According to Wikipedia, there are 30 -45 different types of nettle (family Urtica) which strikes me as being a curiously precise sort of imprecision.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.