Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Red Admiral

Another very warm day brought lots of butterflies out on campus, more than I've seen on any day this year. One particular patch was swarming with Red Admirals and Small Tortoiseshell. I've already brought you a Small Tortoiseshell blip earlier in the year, so here you have a Red Admiral.

I do have some pictures with the wings open, but I love the colours of the underside of the wing, and this is a reasonably sharp image, so it's my selection for the day.

I've put some of the other shots from the day in my butterflies Flickr set.


Hopefully the weather will keep up over the weekend, and I'll get a chance to catch some more butterflies, maybe a Comma which I haven't seen yet this year.

sailing ~ a warm autumn day ~ red admiral

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.