Blue Planet Photography

By blueplanetphoto

The Daybooks

Some would think these a Bible of some sort, and perhaps they are in their own special way. Not a manual to follow or for planning ones life, but an insight into a portion of the life of a well-known artist. There aren't any surprises here, just confirmation that great artists, for the most part, are regular human beings like the rest of us, full of insecurity, pride, loathing, lust, greed, charity, creativity, and all the other foibles of the human race.

Sometimes I think we put our "heroes" on too high a pedestal then are surprised when we meet them and find them less than our expectation or just as "normal" as we are. Admiration and respect is one thing. Worship quite another.

I've been a day or so behind on my blipping, so if you're interested, check the past 2 - 3 days.

October 5, 1925

I smashed my camera to the tune of thirty pesos. Brett thought I had hold - I thought he had. It fell from tripod height to the cement floor of Museo Nacional. I just stood and looked at it.

A sitting ahead today - must try to find some half-decent clothes to don. Funny people who think a good photographer, or a good anything, must have money!


-- The Daybooks of Edward Weston, I Mexico

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.