David J. Rose

By djrose007

Pickling Beetroot, Delicious!

In preparation for the very cold weather that has been forecast for later this week I picked the last of the runner beans and dismantled the bamboo frame that supported them. Put the plants in the compost bin, which releases all of the nitrogen built up in the roots, then harvested the remaining carrots and salad vegetables but still some rocket left to pick for the next few days.

My favourite though is the beetroot. I love cheese and pickled beetroot in a sandwich, or roasted beetroot with dinner.
This is all that was left of the beetroot crop so I boiled it all, removed the skins, sliced them and pickled them.
I was going to slice them with a knife but Marlane, brilliant as ever, suggested I use the egg slicer. Lovely even slices and a lot of time saved.
This lot filled one medium sized Mayonnaise jar and three smaller, mint jelly size, jars.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.