Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Time of my life: 5:20

I think I can say it's been one of my best work days, having completed 10 sneak peek images, from the little details of the nape of the neck, to the sisters, and more on here.

Thank you beautiful, luscious locked 8 day old Dahlia for modelling for me for 5 hours, Mum Cindy's willingness to listen to my creative ideas and Dad Dan's endless patience, and sister Olivia's loveliness, all added to their 2hr journey to me this morning. Thank you too my friend Jenn for assisting me and my eternal demands. Despite all the planning, you can't really plan for a newborn session in the end: the wondrous child is quite clearly the boss and director.

Can't describe the feeling of holding her...

Today I wanted to try something I'd never seen before, inspired by a late night trip to a store for some bean bag fill and the idea just dawned on me, accompanied soon after by the title. And then I thought of a series of "Time of my life" images, time standing still at the moment of their birth. I felt my head was going to explode with ideas today and perhaps it's often better just to keep things simple. For me there is nothing more beautiful than bare naked babies without embellishments. Which reminds me: I never did get round to making that book.

Does this give me a right to now buy the 35/1.4? You know that I deserve it ;-)

Also loved the 50/2.5 macro, a compromise for what I wanted, but a good runner up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.