Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

1000 in a Row!

10 x 100 = Woohoo
10 x 100 = Victory
10 x 100 = Miracle
10 x 100 = Celebration

It equals "Far Out!" and "Fabulous"!!!

Mostly, it equals THANK YOU to everyone involved with this amazing community.

Thank YOU to Joe Tree!
Thank YOU to Joe's Mom, Joe's Wife, Joe's Daughter, Joe's entire family!
Thank YOU to everyone at BlipCentral!

Thank YOU to EVERYONE in this BlipCommunity! Even if you've never stopped by my page before . . . everyone here collectively makes this an indescribable experience.

Thank YOU to all who have encouraged me throughout these past 1000 days!

I arrived here on January 5, 2009, without a clue what I was getting into. I wanted a place to write a journal everyday and I simply googled to discover what would appear. Minutes later I was reading about "Blipfoto" and then looking for our "point and shoot" camera. It was just moments after midnight; I was still on holiday break from school; Mr. Fun was sound asleep on the sofa; I was doing my usual night-owl routine. I'm not sure I had ever downloaded film from the camera to my computer, but I know for certain that it was the first time I had ever uploaded a photo and my thoughts to cyberspace.

What began that moment was an addiction, a love affair, a new way of seeing ordinary life. What began that moment was communication with people from all over the world . . . interesting conversation, meaningful conversation, crazy-fun conversation, and deep emotional conversation. I found friends all over the globe who I had never met before and probably never would (but I have met two -- Dorrit and then Mallary).

I used to think of Blipfoto as a ribbon that continuously circles this globe . . . if I'd sit still right here in my little spot on earth and watch . . . the photos and the words of many others would spice, flavor, and inform my life. It was all I could do to fold-up my chair to run to work and to go "do" life . . . I knew the moving ribbon of photos was rotating past without me. Ugh! I don't know if it was an addiction or a love affair, but I had it BAD! Actually Blip had me!

Thankfully, somewhere in these past 1000 days the fever of my addiction subsided, and unfortunately, much of the time currently I hardly have time to comment, but I do try to look and to read. The minute I start typing comments, though, I am down the rabbit hole and gone for hours because I absolutely love typing comments.

At first, I think I was an oddball blipper because I was not here to refine or perfect my photography. I needed to exercise my writing muscle. Occasionally I'd capture a quality photo and occasionally I'd capture meaningful written thoughts. Without Blipfoto I would have very few of either.

The reason I've never stopped "blipping" is because the day I skip will be the beginning of skipping. This is a personal discipline that I am committed to doing. I teach freshman college students to write. Because I teach writing, I need to be writing. Occasionally I've needed to back-blip because we've been traveling or vacationing. I absolutely hate back-blipping . . . maybe that helps me to stay "daily."

I've watched this site change immensely in 1000 days. Joe Tree, I am amazed at all that you have accomplished in such a short amount of time. Yes, it is not the community that it used to be, but it is so much more . . . it is not just pockets of good scatter around the world . . . the entire experience is good! A favorite memory is the "Blip-Together" you led us through in January 2010 (Thanks to Twigs!). I also love "Life.Turns" and once in a while still watch that amazing "moving" clip . . . as I laugh and cry and get goosebumps!

So THANK YOU -- EVERYONE -- I love this place.

Balloons, cameras, confetti, cake, and certainly a little champagne are making this moment -- momentous!!!

Oh yeah, AND it's NOT about the photo! Todays photo is definitely not a good photo, but we are dancing and the candles are lit!

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.