middleman

By middleman

Philly

A friend of a friend is a well-known musician, DJ, designer, artist, and all round general creative type. As well as a huge record collector for the last thirty years or so. I've sold several thousand of his records for him over the last few years on a highly popular internet-based auction site and his collection is pretty eclectic as you might expect for somone with that quantity of vinyl.

Current listing activity is a box of old 7"s I dug out of the cupboard t'other week - it's mainly old soul, funk and disco (Motown, Stax, Salsoul, Atlantic) stuff with a smattering of football records, the occasional children's TV theme single and even the Jim Bowen Rap makes an appearance. I did say ecelctic after all. So, I was out for the evening babysitting for a friend. A lovely evening ensued after their boy had gone to bed as I sat in their kitchen drinking tea, with a bagful of these singles in front of me (most of which I'd never heard of) and finding that most of them were available in some shape of form online to check out.

So, I listened while I listed, transported back to 1970s Detroit, Chicago, Miami and, my favourite, Philadelphia.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.