Here we go again!

By MI

Maison de Zola, Médan

I was one of hundreds who made the annual pilgrimage to Médan today, the home that Emile Zola bought with the proceeds from the sale of his first best-seller, L'Assommoir. The house will be closed now for the next three years and reopened as a renovated museum and research centre. It was quite a moving experience to see the diverse group of people who came to pay tribute to Zola. I took lots of photos that will no doubt end up in future powerpoint presentations for my classes on Zola. I snapped this while the crowds were listening to the speeches in the garden to the side of the house.

Because there were so many people and so few buses, I ended up walking back from Médan to the train station in Villennes-sur-Seine. It was a long walk but gave me a chance to see the two villages and to come across some things that surprised me, like the communal laundry bassin in Médan and beautiful homes and public parks in Villennes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.