Guinea Pig Zero

By gpzero

That's All, Folks!

Yesterday I presented a long-junked, red station wagon, which got a lively string of comments. Here's the perfect follow-up blip. Though I took some good shots of the cats and river scenes this afternoon, I want to talk about this roasted pig I met in an Asian supermarket a few miles from my place.

I've always wanted to attend a pig roast or that of an ox because I've been hearing about them since I was a kid (usually from people of other regions in North America) and it sounds like delicious fun. One friend nearby has had pig roasts with his housemates in recent years but I've missed them all. I've proposed doing it but I have too many vegan & vegetarian friends to sustain such a party. I understand that it takes two days for a whole pig to cook properly.

Imagine my surprise and jealousy when some lady has this roasted porker on a shopping cart, ready to push it out to her car with the receipt taped to it and marachino cherries for eyes. I thought $211.00 was a fair price. It was probably for a wedding or a birthday celebratioin.

Tonight Ceridwen and I had a guinea fowl over rice with cooked apples and mustard & radish greens. All but the rice was raised right here in West Philadelphia. It was so flavorful. We gathered the apples along the river bank during a bike excursion.

Well that's all for my blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.