Brian's Bits

By Kanyl

A long way from home.

In The Guardian©
Rachel Cooke on food says...

''So a Cornish pasty has to be made in Cornwall?
But who's to say it would taste any better than one made in Devon or Dorset?''


''I keep thinking about Cornish pasties, which have just been given protected status by the European commission, and every time I do, I come over all Nigel Farage. I just don't understand it. What's the point of a system that gives a pasty cachet for being made in Cornwall rather than for the quality of its ingredients, or the skill with which it is made? Cornwall is replete with inferior factory-made pasties. Meanwhile, in Devon ? and in Cumbria, Norfolk and Essex, too, for all I know ? people are making perfectly delicious Cornish pasties which they are now forbidden to connect with the county where they were invented. As Nigel would say: 'This is European bureaucracy gone mad!'''

Since the object of the exercise was to Christen the Wagon, iron out wrinkles and buy any missing bits: we had a test-run down to the Chester area and prowled Cheshire Oaks for a spot of diversion. Could hardly stir for Costas, Starbucks, etc.

Just on the outer edge I spotted this one.

I had a recent chat with a Blipper/Furriner (?) reference the strangeness of the Brit car numbers.

I keep repeating examples such as ... N1EDT reading like the owner Mr. NIEDT etc.
There's quite a bit of Number=Letter going around, with B4GOT reading as the owner Mr. Bagot and not, as I tend to read it ''B forgot''.
The reason for that preamble is just in case you missed the''P4STY'' on the front of the
VW.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.