Chiara

By Chiara

MLK Drive

The UniverSoul Circus is in town!

Performers from many countries all over the world (Jamaica, Russia, and China, to name a few) are on a tour in the U.S. to deliver jaw-dropping acts, and they're in Chicago right now.

I surprised Jeff with tickets, and we made our way to their blue and yellow circus tent in the south side of Chicago. The audience was predominantly African-American. We were one of the very, very few white people there. While I have always felt like an outcast my whole life, I was able to hide my "different" traits by covering my hearing aid with my hair and not speaking at all. Problem solved -- I could blend in with everyone else. However, in this case, Jeff and I stuck out like a sore thumb. At least now I know how awkward some African Americans might feel with being the only black person in a sea of white people. It was a nice way to walk a mile in somebody else's shoes, just for one night.

The show was amazing! We were really impressed with all the people and their stellar performances. For instance, a Gabonese troupe had a man walking the tight rope 20 feet from the ground with another man standing on the top of his head. Dogs brought over from Chile did back flips and jumped ropes. Four South American motorcyclists rode parallel to the ground in a small globe without hitting each other. They were a truly talented bunch.

The audience was really into it. They busted out dance moves whenever they had a chance and they cheered, hollered, and jumped out of their seats in excitement. The African American culture really has a lot of soul (hence the name of the circus).

Last but not least, Jeff and I got to ride an elephant. It was just like horseback riding, but much higher from the ground. Elephants are really sweet and tame. I wish we had a picture. Maybe next time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.