Uncle Bert

I love this shot of my uncle with his team. My daughter, FirehorseMia, scanned it from my grandmother's old photo album when she had the chance a few years ago. It was taken some time in the 1920s. My grandmother took this young man on to help with the farm. In time he married my aunt and gave Granma a home for the rest of her long life.

My earliest recollections are of him when, as a toddler, I lived with them during the middle part of WW2. After the evening meal Uncle Bert liked to sit with his feet up on the stove hob, smoking a roll-your-own and reading the newspaper. He'd lift me onto his lap, tear a strip from the side of the paper and roll it up for me. And we would sit there smoking away, just him and me inside the newspaper.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.