Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Food Glorious Food

Back up north this week and my goodness is it cold up here! Brrr it's flipping freezing! Which is great when you've got flu, but I'm struggling on with doses of a well known cold/flu medicine.

Today's blip is, as you can see, the Cumbrian Food Hall in Penrith, it's a great place full of local produce and always well worth a visit. My particular favourite is a nice, spicy pasty using local meat, I can't say anymore than that for fear of upsetting one of my subscribers. It's always packed whenever you go there which is great to see, because with the focus on sustainable food, supporting local producers is only going to help our sustainable approach and the economy in general. Its not just local people that use it either, you always see tourists there even if they are just stocking up on Kendal Mint Cake before climbing the mountains.

I'll never forget one of my colleague's visits there, we usually stopped there before heading back south to pick up some sausages or bacon or other produce. Well this one time he did the usual and put the bag in his boot, about a week or so later he was concerned about a very pungent smell coming from within the car. Not realising what it was until he opened his boot and remembered the sausages he bought a week or so ago, he never took them out of his boot. Lol! It took some time to get rid of the smell I can tell you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.