earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

A Brief Coalescence

I appear to be in a rather contemplative mood at the moment. I suspect it's being brought on by a general lack of sleep. I suffered another fitful night because of this cough I've acquired. Thanks for the remedy suggestions. Although I'm not a great believer in remedies (other than as often quite pleasant placebos), I've been trying some out of desperation. If any work I will let you know.

So, walking along the canal to the office quite early this morning I caught sight of this stream of leaves floating along a barely perceptible current. The flotilla was hugging the bank until a certain point, where the leaves then set off on a diagonal course to the far side of the canal. None were straying. It was all quite eerily precise, almost if they were fulfilling some kind of destiny.

The leaves had mostly arranged themselves into little floating islands of various sizes, each like some kind of leaf painting that had been created with great care and sense of design! It was hard not to wonder by what complex journey each had taken to arrive here, growing on different trees, falling in different places along the canal, each weathering and growing old in its own unique way. Occasionally a leaf would break free, and as a singleton it would encounter less resistance, travelling faster in the current to catch up and join the little island ahead. These leaf paintings were constantly undergoing such subtle transformations, a continuum of ever changing coalescence. It seemed like a metaphor for our human lives in so many ways. I found it quite mesmerising.

A quick thank you to everyone who is still stopping by to look and comment, despite the difficulty I have with time right now, which is preventing me from reciprocating. I feel very honoured. It means more to me than you can possibly imagine.

Later ... I thought it might be of interest to add a shot of the flotilla crossing the canal. Take a look here. I can only guess that there must be some kind of outflow on the other side causing this subtle little current. It really did look like they were on a kind of mission!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.