Without Malice

By aforethought

Tie Menagerie

I'd be lying if I said I went to great lengths to turn myself out impeccably, or more precisely that I went to great lengths in failing to do so.

And indeed, it's an odd world I live in, one in which I wear a suit comfortably. Not that I am suggesting it *sits* comfortably, that's for others to decide. Others with some sense of how all that works. Perhaps others who care that it works at all.

It's a fair surprise to me generally that I know how to do up the top button of a shirt. Imagine the shock therefore when I discovered a decade ago that I liked ties. Disconcerting.

Not that I am a collector. Or an expert. Or anything other than a surprised tourist in the well travelled world of neckwear. A picky one, obviously. Nothing better than being fussy about a topic, while also almost entirely lacking informed knowledge on the subject.

An old friend, equally bemused about such matters, recently spoke to me of this. He ventured, while suffering in his formal attire, that I was fine suited because I carried it well. It felt equal measure admiration and disdain. But heh...

I love a good tie!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.