Up North

When the fog lifted this morning I saw bright white peaks soaring above fluffy grey clouds. I went out hoping to get a good shot of the mountains, but there was too much contrast between the white tops and the dark lower reaches, with grey between. The peaks quickly vanished as the clouds thickened.

Instead, here are foothills on the northern side of the Waimakariri River. I was on the edge of the southern bluff. That pale line through the trees that you can see to the right of the cabbage trees is above the northern bluff. Between, deep down, are two or more kilometres of farmland and riverbed.

We had bursts of sunshine today, but a cool easterly kept it from getting warm.

Sad to hear about Steve Jobs. I started out working on an Apple machine about 35 years ago. You had to write a program to get it to do anything, even write a letter. The first computer that I owned was a wee Macintosh, which I still have. I love Macs. Great innovation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.