in His image

By freddy

Dead people

I went with my family to visit my grandfather's grave at the cemetery. It was a very nice one. Everything from the grass to the trees and bushes were pruned and well trimmed. My dad told me that the lots on this particular cemetery are quite costly. Added together with funeral preparations and ceremonies, death can be quite expensive. This reminded me of when Jesus explains to his followers the cost of following Him.

To another he said, "Follow me." But he said, "Lord, let me first go and bury my father." And Jesus said to him, "Leave the dead to bury their own dead. But as for you, go and proclaim the kingdom of God." (Luke 9:59-60)

It may sound like Jesus is being hasty and inconsiderate, but He is trying to make a point. He is really asking, "What are your priorities?" The God of the universe loves you, has the perfect plan for your life, and has the salvation for your soul. What else could be more important? Following Jesus requires you to surrender all of your life, but the promise is that you will be blessed (not by our own worldly standards) and you will find joy that lasts for eternity. If you are not willing to give all of your life to Christ, you will not find salvation.

Jesus said to him, "No one who puts his hand to the plow and looks back is fit for the kingdom of God" (Luke 9:62)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.