not seeing straight

By jaybroek

Gladstone's Court

I heard about the death of Steve Jobs at 7am when the radio alarm woke us. I say woke us, Milo had been doing that periodically since 2:30 but Moira Stewart's voice definitely cut into some sort of semi-conscious haze.

As I saw somewhere else on blip, 56 is too young to go.

My mother rang me about 9:30 to tell me that her brother had died. I hadn't seen a lot of him for some years - family gatherings are not that frequent and my attendance at them sporadic at best - but I have fond memories of staying with him and my cousins back in my teenage years.

I don't think the last few years have been happy ones for him and, unconsciously or not, he's been working towards this for some time. His passing is enormously sad nevertheless.

RIP Roland

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.