Art meets Science, Steve Job's style

I've never believed that they're separate. Leonardo da Vinci was a great artist and a great scientist. Michelangelo knew a tremendous amount about how to cut stone at the quarry. The finest dozen computer scientists I know are all musicians. Some are better than others, but they all consider that an important part of their life. I don't believe that the best people in any of these fields see themselves as one branch of a forked tree. I just don't see that. People bring these things together a lot. Dr. Land at Polaroid said, "I want Polaroid to stand at the intersection of art and science," and I've never forgotten that. I think that that's possible, and I think a lot of people have tried.

-Time, October 10, 1999


He helped my tree sprout so many branches, and provided a lovely hollow for my digital darkroom. Form and function as one, many beautifully designed, intuitive devices that have certainly stretched my little universe, a great loss.

"One more thing..."

A humble, heartfelt thank you.

For the Record,
This day came in cool and sunny, a crisp fall day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.