Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Likely lads

Thanks very much for all the positive feedback on yesterday's picture. Rather than attempt something else in the same vein, I've decided to opt for something completely different today!

It's World Mental Health Day on Monday (10th Oct) but Liverpool got in ahead of the game today with a whole programme of events.

I went along to BBC Radio Merseyside to participate in the festivities and the place was heaving with people that I know for one reason or another. Des (left) and Mohammed are just two of them.

They both work as Community Development Workers with a specific brief to address mental health issues amongst the city's diverse minority communities and I see them on a regular basis in the course of my work. I used to see more of Mo in his previous job when he used to sit just across the room from me and keep everyone entertained all day with his witty Scouse-Iranian banter. He's one of the funniest people I know and it's all been a bit quiet in the office since he changed jobs...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.