Kinda Before Horrigans

By horrigansbefore

Start the day...

... with a sigh

[finished version on my [url=http://www.blipfoto.com/entry/1450700]Kinda Horrigans[/url] journal]

One of those infamous snatched shots again. Stuck at traffic lights, see a woman going to cross, wait until she's nicely in frame... then... take the shot.

To rescue it, I processed the RAW file so that the sky was properly exposed, then processed it again so that the foreground was exposed correctly. Copied one version on top of the other and then used a layer mask with a large black brush set to about 75% opacity to paint out the bits I didn't want and leave a balanced exposure. Then, flattened and duplicated the background. On the copied layer, I used Topaz Adjust and the Spicify setting (but with the saturation reduced slightly). Then, set that layer to about 50% opacity to calm the effect down. Gave the whole shot a slight crop...

Sharpened, flattened and saved.

Tip of the day:
Again, nothing to do with today's shot, but I read an article about TtV (Through-the-Viewfinder) photography in today's Guardian and thought I'd like to have a go with that with my old Rolleicord TLR film camera!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.