Matt Bargery's Blips

By mattbargery

Steve Jobs

Steve Jobs and Steve Wozniak founded Apple Computers on 1st April 1976 some 10 days before I was born, however it was not until I started University in '94 that I came into contact with an Apple product, aged 18. When studying Architecture at Portsmouth University we were taught computer modelling on Mac Classics and from that day I have been an Apple Mac fan.

I've had the pleasure of owning an original iMac G3 (Bondi Blue '98), an iMac G5 (17" white flatscreen '05), and a MacBook Pro (15" Intel '07) which I am currently writing this on. I've had an iPod Nano (1GB), and iPod Classic (80GB), and iPhone 3G and an iPhone 4. Two weeks ago I persuaded my mother to buy an iPad which she now uses to FaceTime and Skype with the family and to view amazing photos of all her loved ones.

Steve Jobs turned technology from products that were hard to use and hard to look at, to products that were not only beautiful to look at but delightful to use. He redefined technology and its daily contribution to the way we live our lives today. He also redefined the music industry which was being destroyed by file sharing and gave it a new more sustainable future with iTunes, as well as funding the evolution of computer animation in film with Pixar. I have no doubt his legacy will continue to enrich our lives for many more years to come.

He died a young man at 56, but he lived his life to the full, never wasting a single second. He once said:

"Being the richest man in the cemetery doesn't matter to me ? Going to bed at night saying we've done something wonderful? that's what matters to me." Wall Street Journal 1993.

Steve was a tall man with large size 14 feet, but the size of the footprint he leaves behind is that of a giant in the history of the modern world.

Goodbye Steve and thank you.

PS. I'm a mac.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.