A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Pink

Pink - a colour that stirs up all sorts of passions in people! Particularly relating to little girls and whether they should wear it or not.

A magazine I read had a bit of a debate about it recently and there were comments from two mothers, one who dressed her daughter in pink and one who didn't. The one who did had tried to get her child to wear other colours but as soon as she was old enough to choose for herself she wanted pink. The other refused to dress her child in pink as it is a gender stereotype and shouldn't be encouraged- the daughters opinion didn't enter in to it!

Interesting it is only in modern times that pink came to be associated with girls, previously such a bright and aggressive colour was considered unsuitable for a female and should only be seen on boys.

I never wore it as a little girl because I didn't like it although as a teenager I liked shocking pink. I have had a bit of a pink revival in the last few years where I have suddenly found myself liking it and have to be careful I don't overdo it. I did once find myself wearing a pink jacket and pink jeans together, the embarrassment led me to getting rid of the jeans so it could never happen again... :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.