Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

The Dubs

Very much a recovery day after my time in Budapest. A bit of a shock to the system in terms of weather too: farewell to the clear skies and bright sunshine, hello again to good old Irish wind and rain.

Recovery consisted basically of being utterly lazy all day. I did manage to stick my nose outside and get as far as the local shop and continue for a short walk around the block. That's when I noticed these left-over flags hanging from overhead electricity cables, left-over, that is, from the All-Ireland Gaelic Football Final which Dublin narrowly won after a gap of sixteen years. These are the Dublin colours, and lots of houses around my neighbourhood were festooned with blue and blue flags and good-luck signs leading up to and after the match.

I always think of the protests against the war in Vietnam whenever I see something like this, though I may well be wide of the mark when I associate runners thrown over cables as dating from that time. Whatever about knotting laces together and managing to get them to dangle over the cable after what I'm sure would be several abortive attempts, this seems to be different, as if somebody called in height for hire to give a helping hand.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.