Snips and Snaps

By NLN

Spotted by the Postie

I love this row of rather grand villas, the windows appear to reflect the design of St Michael's church church opposite. Like many houses of this type on the edge of town centres, most have been converted to flats. However they retain their fine features probably due to their grade II listed status.

Today's intensive bursts of rain were short but sharp with bright sunshine in between. Having had the windscreen wipers on a couple of minutes before this, suddenly the sun appeared to show off the red brick and sandstone to their best effect. These lovely Victorian villas with their highly fashionable bay windows and basements below and steps leading up to the rather grand entrance were the homes to Wigan's prosperous merchants with businesses in the town centre.

Just as I took the snap, the postman, still in his big waterproof jacket, gave me one of those 'looks'. Still I think he adds something to the blip.

I surprised another guy going about his business delivering leaflets, but he seemed much more pleased to be captured on 'film'. I think I would have gone with this one, but couldn't really straighten it without cutting him in half, which wouldn't have been very nice as he blew me a kiss as I drove off!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.