Several Species of

By luckycharms

Keys

And so you're back
From outer space
I just walked in to find you here
With that sad look upon your face
I should have changed my stupid lock
I should have made you leave your key
If I had known for just one second
You'd be back to bother me


Yes, like the villain of the Gloria Gaynor song, I'm back. A lot has changed since "Iced Tea" from one day short of a month ago. I've sent my trusty Pentax in for warranty repair (because I realized the warranty was up in two weeks and I really wanted certain annoying things fixed). Fortunately for me, I was able to steal my mother's Nikon N75 film SLR from the closet. It's spent most of it's life in that closet, and before it was used for a wedding a few weeks ago it saw maybe ten rolls of film at most. As a result of said wedding, there are plenty of spare rolls of Superia X-tra 400 around, so I loaded one in and off I went.

This isn't the first time I've shot film. When I was little, I had a pair (well, one got run over in Cape Cod) of point-and-shoot 120 cameras that were basically disposables with replaceable film. Since then, I had not really done any photography until I bought my Pentax nearly a year ago. More than 5500 frames later, I am happy with how I've progressed, but I always felt like a fraud because I couldn't shoot film. Here it was, my golden opportunity.

This is my keyboard. I've done similar things with digital, but felt like trying a few out in film. This was the result. It is scanned on a low-quality scanner from a print, so the quality is far from optimal. Once I finish a few rolls I will have them scanned from the negatives, but for now these will give you an idea.

Look for future blips in the future to come in clusters. This is the first of three for tonight.

Nikon N75, Fujifilm Superia X-tra 400.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.