....We Few, We Happy Few

By paul1332

Weekend

A challenging week is now at an end. This is the Tesco self service checkout where I'm queueing up having spent the last 2o minutes or so getting the weekend supplies. I have my little girl with and we have had a good time as we decided together what we needed. As often happens in my local store I've bumped into someone I haven't seen in a while which resulted in a conversation which also included a comment about how much my "little" girl had grown. I also had the weird meeting of someone who I can't have seen in 30 years plus but had this vague idea that I did "know" her. Whilst most people would have let this go, I can never do this so had to ask if she happened to go to my old school. To my surprise she said yes and there followed a great conversation about old teachers and the way we were. This woman is 3 years older than me so we weren't even in the same classes and I really don't know how I recognised her but as I said to her the worst she could have said was "no, wrong person" and that would have been that. As it was I was able to catch up with someone from my distant past and my daughter was blown away by my excellent memory. The hard bit was now trying to remember where I'd parked the car!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.