Another Languedoc year...

By SweetApricots

Kit the labradorable

Kit the dog is mostly Labrador. The remaining part is pig. Kit has the remarkable ability to find food wherever she goes; sandwiches discarded in the street, grapes, almonds and wild asparagus in the vineyard. She can find bones that were buried by long-dead dogs in the middle of the garrigue.

When not hunting for food Kit's jobs are variously to a) be my shadow b) guide Flynn, our beautiful but dim Husky c) let us know when someone is at the gate d) clear up any bread the hens may not want e) make us laugh and f) suffer strangers cooing over Flynn whilst ignoring her less obvious inner beauty.

When I had my first dog my mother came up with the immortal line "Oh but how will you cope when he dies?" Fortunately I had ten good years with that wonderful dog before I had to cope. Kit is just six years old, but I do have to stop myself thinking "How will I cope when she dies?" She is a labradorable. (Best said with a French accent)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.