Quietus

Julian Stair

Just back from a great day out in Stoke at the British Ceramics Biennal exhibitions. A great use of empty industrial space (the sadly closed Spode factory in the city centre) and a huge variety of style and design.

I'm still going through the shots now, but this one caught my eye (both when I shot it and again in Lightroom). I loved the shapes and positioning of the pieces here. These are cinerary jars - designed to house the body's ashes after cremation. Its macabre subject matter, I guess, but when you walk round the museum seeing pots that are thousands of years old, I think there is a reference to the transience of human life and the permanence of something inert like ceramic.

There will be more on flickr and my website later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.