Alice in Blipland

By Alicemaylara

Crab Sticks Anyone?

Seriously, do crabs inhabit the river Wharfe? And if the answers no then why did I spot these along the path at kilnsey today?

I started my walk at Conistone in drizzle which continued throughout the walk. And I blame Five Live for my lack of preparation. I didn't take my waterproofs so got absolutely soaked.

Anyway I took the route along Mastiles lane, an old drovers road used to transport monastery's sheep to be washed and shorn. It goes all the way to Malham. Along the way is a Roman Marching Camp, when the romans occupied the area they set up a temporary camp up there...bit strange it's pretty windy and there is no shelter.

As I mentioned yesterday I went to get some new shoes for my feet but the only things I could get that didn't hurt were sandals...so impractical! Anyway I had a nice walk and saw a heron in flight really close up :)

I found this crabs foot near the end of the walk so I thought I'd blip it rather than my WET feet or my stinging bottom after answering the call of nature...on a nettle. No one wants to see that!

My dad showed me an old letter from the parents of a man who after surviving a prisoner of war camp in Japan caught TB then went to south Africa for the better climate only to die in a car crash. The letter was fascinating.

And that's today's one through the looking glass

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.