Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Soft...

Today the weather's been 'soft' : damp, still, very grey and with a steady mizzle. We don't often get conditions like that in the east of England - it's a much more western phenomenon - perhaps freespiral sent it our way!

I was quite glad as it gave me a chance to catch up with indoor chores without feeling the need to get out - I've even been hoovering! I left my blip until late afternoon, hoping against hope that there might be a glimmer of sunshine.

The dull light and lack of breeze was quite good for flower photography, so I got the tripod out and took a couple of shots of our red valerian, which is having a second flower. But as I was going back in, this valerian seed caught my eye. It's perhaps not as sharp as I would like, as it was catching what little breeze there was, but the gentle colours and drops of moisture perfectly encapsulate the day.

PS Thanks so much for the comments about my moon. It wasn't actually that difficult to hand hold, as the speed was 1/400th of a second, one I use quite a lot for dragonflies and other insects, which require a far steadier hand to get the focus right!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.